Many people do not know what the difference is between a vegetarian diet and a vegan diet. They assume both types of diet do not include meat, which is correct. However, the vegan diet is more restrictive in the types of foods that may be included in a diet. A vegan does not eat any type of food that contains animal or animal products. For many vegans, this means exclusion of products such as honey, whey, lanolin, and gelatin.
Many individuals who embark on a vegan diet have an underlying reason for pursuing this lifestyle. They may have strong ethical or moral convictions or they may have health issues that require that animal products be eliminated from their diet. One of the issues that arise for people beginning this diet is that they don’t do the research.